Battlefield Acupuncture 

Also known as BFA. “The treatment uses small needles in the skin of the ear to block pain in as few as five minutes and can last for several days or longer. The procedure was initially introduced in 2008 at Landstuhl Regional Medical Center (LRMC), where it was applied to wounded service members and local patients for pain relief, with significant results.” (Acupuncture Today, April, 2009, Vol. 10, Issue 04)

I’m pretty excited because I’ve got a BFA session scheduled today. It helps so much. I actually walk upright and without pain after getting these tiny pins punched into my ears. The pins only stay in place for a few days. Then they pop out and I deflate like a balloon. The pain gradually comes back. But, after this month… I’ll take a few days rest. 

When searching for information to share, I was shocked at all the articles claiming that this method to relieve chronic pain as quackery. I am convinced that those who wrote these articles don’t live in pain every single day. They don’t have neurological pain that originates from the brain stem. Or arthritis. Or anxiety.  I believe that they’re just plain mean. 

If you live in constant pain, it would make a huge difference in your life to give acupuncture a try. I have had it done for over a year now and it is the only treatment that works to relieve pain and anxiety without side effects! The first few treatments may only give a small amount of relief. Then next few will give incrementally more. Soon, you’ll stand upright  like the pain was never there. It’s amazing. 

I was absolutely skeptical when I booked my first visit. But I was in so much pain that I would have tried voodoo had that been available. (Good thing, acupuncture worked first). 

A tip: book a session near your home. So you’re not stressed when you leave. The calmer you stay, the better it works. I was getting acupuncture from Walter Reed in Maryland. Walter Reed is located 40 miles away from home, with horrible traffic in between. The effects of the acupuncture were lessened because of the stress. I didn’t realize how much the stress robbed the effects until I began receiving treatment closer to home. 

Have you had acupuncture?

Leave a comment

