Why Do People Lie?

via Why Do People Lie?

Most everybody, at one time or another, has lied. Tell the truth now: that includes you and me. In fact, some people, sad to say, lie almost all the time. Psychologists call these people compulsive or psychopathic liars. They tell lies even when they don’t have to. Even the youngest of children will lie, especially if they think by doing it they won’t get punished for something. When children first learn how lying works, they lack the moral understanding of when to refrain from doing it.

While everybody lies, few understand how destructive it can be, why we do it, or how to stop it. So let’s answer the question, “Why do people lie?” Let’s start with a quick self-evaluation:

  • How many lies do you think you have told this last week?
  • Who did you tell the lies to?
  • Why did you tell the lies?why do people lie
  • How do you feel about the lies you told now?

More….

5 thoughts on “Why Do People Lie?

    1. I can say that I’ve been in situations that lying was so ingrained that I would catch myself lying for no reason. I eventually straightened out my life enough to not have to lie. It was though, but once I challenged myself to not lie, it made me make better decisions and hold myself accountable at a whole new level. Thanks so much for your comment. It’s a tough subject to deal with when you know someone is lying but, they’re so good at it that they will deny to the point you feel crazy.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Well yeah, pathological lying is not part of my own experience either but even that little white lie of ‘sorry I couldn’t answer the phone because’ lol. It is so ingrained in our culture and your post brings up the self check needed when even those little white lies may be unconscious 🙂

      And yes, I’ve dealt with a pathological liar, an 18 yr old boy whom was kicked out of his house (my sons friend) so I took him in for awhile. He not only was so so good at lying, he was stealing from me behind my back. Then lied about that. Then lied about changing. It goes on and on. I still kick myself that I can’t always catch when people are lying because of my security background (it’s a little embarrassing to admit that). But all we can do is keep ourselves with a clear conscience.

      Like

Leave a comment

